A Different World

A Different World

Sep. 24, 1987
Your rating: 10
10 3 votes

Seasons and episodes

6Season 6 Sep. 24, 1992
5Season 5 Sep. 19, 1991
4Season 4 Sep. 20, 1990
3Season 3 Sep. 21, 1989
2Season 2 Oct. 06, 1988
1Season 1 Sep. 24, 1987


Bill Cosby


Cree Summer isWinifred 'Freddie' Brooks
Winifred 'Freddie' Brooks
Jasmine Guy isWhitley Marion Gilbert
Whitley Marion Gilbert
Dawnn Lewis isJaleesa Vinson-Taylor
Jaleesa Vinson-Taylor
Kadeem Hardison isDwayne Cleophus Wayne
Dwayne Cleophus Wayne
Charnele Brown isKimberly Reese
Kimberly Reese
Glynn Turman isColonel Bradford Taylor
Colonel Bradford Taylor
Loretta Devine isStevie Rallen
Stevie Rallen
Marisa Tomei isMaggie Lauten
Maggie Lauten
Mary Alice isLeticia
Leticia "Lettie" Bostic


A Different World is an American television sitcom which aired for six seasons on NBC. It is a spin-off series from The Cosby Show and originally centered on Denise Huxtable and the life of students at Hillman College, a fictional mixed but historically black college in the state of Virginia. After Bonet’s departure in the first season, the remainder of the series primarily focused more on Southern belle Whitley Gilbert and mathematics whiz Dwayne Wayne. The series frequently depicted members of the major historically black fraternities and sororities. While it was a spin-off from The Cosby Show, A Different World would typically address issues that were avoided by The Cosby Show writers. One episode that aired in 1990 was one of the first American network television episodes to address the HIV/AIDS epidemic.

A Different World
Original title A Different World
TMDb Rating 6.9 28 votes
First air date Sep. 24, 1987
Last air date Jul. 09, 1993
Seasons 6
Episodes 144
Average Duration 30 minutes

Similar titles

Zoe Ever After
Living Single
First Wives Club
Average Joe
50 Central
The Game
George Lopez